Home » FIFA Ballon d’Or (page 4)

FIFA Ballon d’Or

The most undeserving Ballon d’Or winners

Michael Owen (2001) The 2000/01 season was a very successful one for Liverpool as they collected a treble of cups – the UEFA Cup, the FA Cup and the League Cup. At the forefront of the Reds’ unprecedented success was their forward Michael Owen as he racked in 24 goals from 46 appearances and went on to win the Ballon ...

Read More »

Five lesser known players to win the Ballon d’Or

Josef Masopust (1962) The Czechoslovakia midfielder won the 1962 Ballon d’Or after garnering 65 votes – 12 more than Benfica legend Eusebio and a further 32 more than 1. FC Koln’s Karl-Heinz Schnellinger. Masopust, a box-to-box midfielder, was the driving force behind Czechoslovakia’s run to the final of the 1962 World Cup; he also scored in the final against Brazil ...

Read More »

Five Best Soccer Players to never win the Ballon d’Or

Ferenc Puskas The mighty Magyar is rightly counted amongst the greatest players to have graced the beautiful game. His goalscoring heroics are of legendary proportions. Puskas racked 84 goals in 85 international matches for the Hungarian national team and 514 goals in 529 league games. Not just the numbers, but Puskas always got the timing right as well. The three-time ...

Read More »