Home » Tournament in Focus » - Copa America » Penalties – the ultimate tournament shoot-out (Part Two)

Penalties – the ultimate tournament shoot-out (Part Two)

Continuing a look back at major international tournaments where the fianl was decided by a penalty shoot-out.

For the first part, please click here.

2004 Copa América Brazil Argentina

This weekend’s final of the Copa América between Brazil and Argentina is just the latest episode in the longest and fiercest rivalries in South American football. In 2004, when the tournament was staged in Peru, the two made it through to the fianl again, which was staged at the Estadio Nacional in Lima.

First blood went to Argentina who took the lead through Kily González from the penalty spot, only for Brazil to equalise on the stroke of half-time thorough Luisão. Argentina restored their lead midway through the second-half, and looked to be heading for victory, only for Brazil to level deep into injury-time.

With extra-time unable to produce a winner, and it was to the outcome of the penalty shoot-out. Brazil scored all of theirs, whereas Argentina missed their first two, taken by Andrés Nicolás D’Alessandro and Gabriel Heinze.

2006 World Cup Final Italy France

The World Cup Final of 2006 is arguably best known for an incident involving  a player who did not finish the match. Zinedine Zidane was sent off with ten minutes of extra time to go for headbutting Italian defender Marco Materazzi for insulting remarks Materazzi had made about Zidane’s sister and mother.

Ironically, the pair had both scored early goals for their side, Zidane from the penalty spot, and Materazzi with the headed equaliser.

Zidane would have almost certainly taken one of the penalties for France in the shoot-out, but, in hs absence, David Trezeguet had his effort saved. Italy were perfect from the spot, with Materazzi scoring their second one.

2015 Copa America Chile Argentina

Prior to 2015, Chile had never won the Copa America before, the premier international tournament in South America But they finally broke that duck on home soil in a final played in the city of Concepcion against Argentina.

The match itself was a tense, dour affair, that finished goalless after 120 minutes, with all the drama reserved for the penalties. Matías  Fernández scored the first for Chile, and Lionel Messi replied for Argentina. Then Arturo Vidal converted his, but Gonzalo Higuaín was unsuccessful with hs effort. Chile then scored again, and ,after Éver Banaga had his effort sailed, it was left to Alexis Sánchez  to make history for his country.

2016 Copa America Chile Argentina

Whilst the expression lightening does not strike twice is usually true, it does not apply to the Argentine football team because the same thing happened again against the same opponents.

With the Copa America celebrating its centenary in 29016, it was decided to host the tournament in the USA, and again the same two teams made it through to the final, which was play at the MetLife Stadium in East Rutherford, New Jersey.

Again, the two sides could not manage a goal between them in normal and extra time, and again it all came down to a penalty shoot-out.

Vidal missed his opening spot-kick for Chile, but so did Messi for Argentina. The next five efforts were all converted, but then Lucas Biglia missed from 12 yards for Argentina.

This time it was Francisco Silva who ensured that Chile would retain the trophy.

Leave a Reply