Home » Tournament in Focus » - English Premier League » The Contenders for the PFA Player of the Year 2018 – 2019

The Contenders for the PFA Player of the Year 2018 – 2019

There are many candidates on the shortlist to end up as the PFA’s Player of the Year in 2019. It is a very prestigious reward so everyone is waiting with anticipation to hear the announcement, despite the Premier League games grabbing much of the attention. Keep on reading as we take a closer look at the many candidates and their achievements in the season so far.

The PFA Player of the Year award will be announced in late April as part of the annual PFA ceremony, usually held at the Grosvenor House in London. So, who do you think it will be? If you want to wager on your favorite player, then we recommend you to use a BetFred promo code for 2019 to get extra perks and some great odds.

Virgil van Dijk

Van Dijk is one of the main forces behind Liverpool’s recent success and they would not be considered a contender if it was for him keeping the defense safe from invaders. The Dutchman is a clear candidate and even though defenders get to be overlooked for this award, he has a good chance as one of the best defenders in the world.

Mohamed Salah

Mohamed Salah does not need a thorough introduction and became a very well-known name after winning the PFA Player of the Year two years in a row, something only Thierry Henry and Cristiano Ronaldo have managed to do before him.

David De Gea

As one of the best goal keepers in the world, let alone the Premier League, David De Gea is also an obvious candidate after yet another splendid season with Manchester United. The Spaniard has single handedly saved a lot of points for the Premier League giants under both Jose Mourinho and Ole Gunnar Solskjaer.

Son Heung-min

Son Heung-min has recently become a clear candidate and he keeps surprising us on the field for Tottenham. He has also attracted a huge Korean fan base to the Premier League which is great for English football in general. In absence of Harry Kane in some crucial matches, Son has bailed out Spurs quite a few times this season and he is one of the main reasons the North Londoners are still in the top four race.

Harry Kane

Harry Kane is another Tottenham player who is worthy of making it on this list. Despite a current injury, like the previous few seasons he has maintained his standards. His numbers have dropped but that is mainly due to his absence from the team because of injury.  

Christian Eriksen 

Danish born Christian Eriksen has continued to be a star on the field and to prove his worth for Tottenham. Eriksen is tipped for a move away from the North London club with his contract nearing its end soon. However, despite his consistently good performances, he isn’t one of the favourites to win the award.

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang 

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang has made quite the contribution to the success of Arsenal last year, scoring 15 goals in the Premier League. He won the Bundesliga Player of the Year in 2016 and it won’t come as a surprise if he wins it in the coming seasons for his goal scoring prowess.

Eden Hazard

Eden Hazard has had a great season in 2018 individually and is by far the greatest asset for Chelsea. It is certain that the Blues will struggle if the Belgian leaves the club in the summer transfer window as they will not be able to do any business because of the ban.

Raheem Sterling

Sterling has been integral for Manchester City’s title challenge this year. The Englishman also scored a hat trick during England’s 5-0 win over the Czech Republic and has continued to make great progress for both club and country. He currently has 19 goals and 16 assists during his 40 games for Manchester City this season.

Who is your favorite pick for the Player of the Year award? If you want to place a bet, then remember to head to Sugarhouse to see the many great odds and promotions available.

Leave a Reply