Home » Tournament in Focus » - English Premier League » Greatest XI to never win the Premier League

Greatest XI to never win the Premier League

greatest xi to never win the premier league

Shay Given

The former Republic of Ireland goalkeeper has spent over 20 years in the Premier League and has played for several clubs but a league winner’s medal has eluded him. The closest he came to winning the coveted title was with Manchester City during his 2009 to 2011 stint at the club, but they won it a year after he left.

Paul McGrath

The Irishman is part of every conversation about the greatest defenders ever to play in the Premier League, but he failed to win a winner’s medal. Paul McGrath left Manchester United in 1989 – before Sir Alex Ferguson revolution at the club kicked in, and finished second in the league with Aston Villa in the 1992/93 season.

Ledley King

The Tottenham Hotspur stalwart spent his entire career at White Hart Lane and earned legendary status at the club. However, Spurs last title win came in 1961, meaning King finished without a league title.

Jamie Carragher

The Liverpool defender is one of the few one-club men in modern football and represented the Reds for over 17 Premier League seasons, but the closest he came to winning the title was in the 2008/09 campaign when the Merseyside outfit finished four points behind Manchester United in second.

Marcel Desailly

The France international won all there was to win at the international level with the 1998 World Cup and the European Championship two years later. However, his six years at Chelsea didn’t yield a Premier League title.

Xabi Alonso

The Spain international, like Desailly, has had an extremely successful international career having won a World Cup and two European Championships. He also won the Champions League with Liverpool as well as Real Madrid, but a Premier League title eluded him.

Steven Gerrard

Gerrard, arguably, is the greatest player to have never won the Premier League. The loyal Liverpool servant had a 17-year stint with the Reds and played over 500 league games for them before moving to the MLS in the twilight of his career without an English first division title to show for his efforts.

Matt Le Tissier

One of the most graceful players of his generation and a loyal Southampton servant, Le Tissier couldn’t help his beloved Saints to Premier League glory during the course of his 16 years at St. Mary’s.

Gareth Bale

The Real Madrid man played six seasons for Tottenham Hotspur in the Premier League, having joined from Southampton in 2007. But Real Madrid’s record signing couldn’t inspire Spurs to league glory.

Luis Suarez

The Uruguay international brought Liverpool to the brink of title glory in the 2013/14 Premier League race before they floundered towards the end of the campaign and finished two points behind eventual winners Manchester City. The following season Suarez joined Barcelona.

Gianfranco Zola

The magical Italian was one of the most technically gifted Premier League players during his seven years in England with Chelsea, but he couldn’t help them to the title.

Leave a Reply