Home » Tournament in Focus » - English Premier League » Worst XI to win the Premier League

Worst XI to win the Premier League


Stuart Taylor

The second choice goalkeeper collected a winners’ medal at Arsenal during their 2001/02 league winning season when manager Arsene Wenger brought him on for Richard Wright on the final day of the season to ensure that he had ten matches – minimum requirement to get a winners’ medal.

Jeff Kenna

The right-back was a Premier League winner with Blackburn Rovers when they reached the summit of English football under the stewardship of Kenny Dalglish in 1995. Kenna went on to make over 150 appearances for the Lancashire outfit, but he remains one of the most underwhelming players to have won a Premier League winners’ medal.

David May

He spent nine seasons at Old Trafford and won two Premier League titles. But his contributions to Manchester United’s title triumphs were all but not existent.

Pascal Cygan

The Frenchman won the Premier League under the Arsene Wenger at Arsenal in the club’s historic 2003/04 season when they went undefeated throughout the league campaign to win the title. However, Cygan’s contribution to the Gunners’ cause is nothing to write home about.

Asier del Horno

The former Spain international was one of the first signings of Jose Mourinho when he first took charge of Chelsea during his first stint in London, but the left-back stayed for only one season before being shipped out to Valencia.

Luke Chadwick

The midfielder played 16 times for Manchester United during their 2000/01 Premier League winning campaign. A product of the Red Devils’ academy, Chadwick had many loan stints away from Old Trafford and was last playing in the lower leagues of English football before going out of contract earlier this summer. However, he has a Premier League winners’ medal to cherish.

Jordi Cruyff

Had it not been for his surname, perhaps, Jordi couldn’t have played for some of the biggest clubs in Europe and won three Premier League as well as a Champions League title with Manchester United. Jordi, unlike his legendary father, was a limited footballer.


The Brazilian had one of the steepest falls in elite level football. A Golden Boy winner in 2008, he went on to win four league titles and a Champions League title with Manchester United. But one wouldn’t find much contribution from Anderson in any of those triumphs no matter how minutely they looked.

Jesper Blomqvist

Signed as a backup by Sir Alex Ferguson, the Swede won a treble of the league title, the Champions League and the FA Cup with Manchester United in 1999 but he spent most of his time in Manchester on the injured list.

Jeremie Aliadiere

The Frenchman was part of Arsenal’s Invicibles during their historic 2004 triumph. However, Aliadiere’s contribution to the Gunners’ triumph can be gauged from the fact that he played just 29 league games for the north London outfit during the six years that he was on their books.

Mike Newell

The former Liverpool youth teamer won the league at Blackburn Rovers in 1995 under the Reds’ legend Dalglish, but his contribution was marginal at best.

Leave a Reply