Home » Football Records » 1960/61 Tottenham side recorded first ever double in 20th century

1960/61 Tottenham side recorded first ever double in 20th century

Tottenham haven’t won a league title since the 1960/61 season and have consistently struggled to finish in the Premier League’s top four for a spot in the Champions League. They have regularly been usurped by their north London rivals Arsenal over the last several years. In fact, they are well behind Chelsea and Arsenal in the quest for being the best club in London. Their last FA Cup triumph came in the 1990/91 season and their last League Cup win was in the 2007/08 campaign. However, Spurs are historically one of the greatest sides in English football. They were in their heydays in the 1960s. Here are some of the records they set during the height of their dominance:

Tottenham Hotspur were the first team to win a double of the league title and the FA Cup in the 20th century, when they triumphed in the league finishing eight points ahead of second-placed Sheffield Wednesday in the 1960/61 season, and defeated the current league leaders Leicester City in the final of the FA Cup 2-0 at Wembley in May 1961. No team had done the double since Aston Villa in the 1896/97 season.

In modern football it has become difficult for the teams to win anything of importance without a sizeable squad. However, Tottenham Hotspurs did the double while using just 17 players through the course of the season.

The legendary Danny Blanchflower, Ron Henry, John White and Les Allen featured in every single one of the 42 league games as well as the seven FA Cup fixtures to end the campaign with a remarkable 49 appearances each.

FA Cup Final 1961 highlights (Courtesy of The British Pathe)

England international Bobby Smith ended the season as the highest goalscorer for the Lilywhites with his tally of 33 strikes – 28 in the league and a further five in the FA Cup.

Tottenham remain one of only seven teams to have achieved a league and cup double in English football. Manchester United and Arsenal have both achieved the feat three times, while Preston North End, Aston Villa, Liverpool and Chelsea have all done it once.

Leave a Reply